Uncategorized

Of Ads, Fads & their Bads ?!?!

Am back on track after so long..Reason for lesser posts,even though I have more time to myself is just darn laziness that has crept into me,that I’m trying to shrug off these days!This post’s for the not-so-latest Ad Fad in Town..Yeup ! Its about those zoozoos,that I can’t stop hating as well as mebbe little bit of loving 😛

The Egghead zoozoos have become the rage allover India thanks to the strategic masterstroke of Ogilvy zoozooand Mather (O&M) India that put these anthropomorphic figures @ exactly the right time – IPL ! Nice BPlan, o&m guys! Reason I hate the zoozoos is because they are hyped (yes! I dont like overly hyped ‘anything’,wothout a good cause) and the reason I like them is because these non-animated promo vids are everything any advertisement should comprise of:To the point,sending the message and in the end,earning u more clients.Just look at the number of fans for these knuckle heads, on Facebook(forgive me zoozoo fans for the strong word 😛 )In the pipeline are a spot, titled “A day in the life of Zoozoo” on Twitter, and merchandise such as key-chains, mugs, T-shirts, and mobile phone stands.Since I’m a keen channel hopper,watching advertisements as much as possible and since I plan to do my masters in business administration – the only normal thing anyone who know me would expect is for me to specialize in marketing and advertisement.Maybe I will 😉 (only a maybe,with a maybe not associated with it)!

Besides the zoozoos ,one other ad that has enamoured me is the one that Intel is rolling out .It features real-world engineers that are truly “rockstars” (or should be) like Alay Bhatt, the co-inventor of the USB.The parting shot where those engineers or dressed-up geeks – whoever they are,sing the PUM..pum pum pum pum – LOL ROFL!!! Its totally hilarious and I think these ads rock 🙂 and they kinda inspire me too *blush*

“We wanted to create something unique. A character that would always be memorable… somewhat alien and yet, very human,” says Varma, who made the zoozoo films. “When we started out, the idea was to ensure that no one should be watching cricket. Everyone should be talking about Zoozoo.”

And we know who the winners are!Go Zoozoos!! And now for a little zoozoo trivia: Had they been animated, it would have taken several years to finish 30 television commercials and come at a huge cost to the advertiser. According to my sources,the entire shoot cost approximately Rs3 crore. :O !Just remembered: The ad for Act II Popcorn which begins like – ‘Do you know why ads are made…So that You can go make you bowl of act II popcorn..No kidding..Serious!” This one’s in my list of favs too! 🙂

I have done total injustice to the title…It shud have been ‘Of Ads,Fads and their guds’ 😛 Anyway..Thats all for now,Folks! Have a great week!Ciao 🙂

6 thoughts on “Of Ads, Fads & their Bads ?!?!”

  1. I was surprised by the exceptional(or exaggerated) welcome given for zoozoos………..but during the course of time zoozoo would have its appeal faded away……..nice post 🙂

  2. hey u know what……….
    we have same feelings for everyhthing !!!
    that day i was telling Aiswariya that i loved that AD…
    bout the co-inventor of the USB port..
    i was really going crazy over that AD..
    why is that we have so much in common ???
    i wud have really LOVED if u were my NEIGHBOUR…
    but sure dudette i ll catch u in MADURAI !!!

  3. do u ever like the AXE effect ADS …. they are just fun to watch :)….
    and hey its so sorry to say that………
    we miss a hell lot of ADS in India……….
    try to see some of the cool PEPSI and COKE ads in youtube
    with HOLLYWOOD pple 🙂
    they are so cool
    and amazing to watch 🙂

  4. @ Sreedevi :
    Cool.Yea I do catch on international ads too..Grt to knw u are an avid ad watcher ,too 😛

Leave a Reply

