of buses and fusses !

Being the bubble wrapped daughter of my parents I was never used to the typical Indian mode of commuting – The Great Indian Buses….until o’course I joined college…And buses are the best ways to make a trip to that pal’s place or to that neighbor town where you can catch a movie with ur buddies and get the ‘despicable person’ tag around your neck after the insti figures out what you’ve been doing! Well lets not get into that,for the moment! ๐Ÿ˜›

So where were we.. Yeah.. Since I was never used to this mode of transport,I was excited when I got to travel by bus as a regular.As days moved I got hit by the harsh realities of a typical bus commuter’s life aboard the bus…Conductors brushing past the people for issuing ticket (when I experience this sick issue system I truly feel India is underdeveloped ๐Ÿ˜ฆ ) Have you ever been shouted @ by a bus driver for no reason at all?Did it ever happen to you to have only a 100 INR note and the driver refused to let you get on because he “had no change”?Have you had enough of this? I have !

bus

A truly overrated picture that I found at a Yankee’s blog.I couldn’tย  help fuming over the post.Here’s a excerpt –

” Child: What bus? All I see is a big pile of Indians!

Man: Thatโ€™s what Indian buses look like. Indians are too cheap to pay for a seat, so they sit on the roof instead. Come on inside, we have the whole bus to ourselves!

Child: This ride is so bumpy! Arenโ€™t there any roads in India?

Man: Thereโ€™s only one, and it isnโ€™t any better than this.You canโ€™t drive fast on it because around every corner thereโ€™s a herd of holy cows.

Child:Wow โ€“ this place is horrible. And to think that an Indian movie just won all those Oscars!

Man: They must have had a quota or something. Indians movies are boring โ€“ no car chases, not even any kissing. And theyโ€™re mostly cheap knock-offs of western entertainment. For example, notice how all their music is ripped off from the Beatles. *** set of youtube links follow ***

:O I know that most parts of the conversation is true..but to hear from another national is truly an embarrassment !!! Trivia : London bus drivers are rated the worst in the world!

Last week I was at Madurai city,and was taking the local bus to my friend’s home 15 minutes away.As I hopped onto the bus,I luckily got a seat near a lady(Note to international readers :; : In India people don’t sit near a person of the opposite sex,cos that is considered saucy and not right.*beats me!*),the conductor of the bus(BC) made his way up front to issue my ticket..As i was running a little short of money..I was counting my coins and gave him some change which happened to be exact..and the BC’s reaction completely left me amazed – This guy actually said ‘Thank You’,which was something I’ve never encountered before from a BC & therefore swung back and asked ‘huh??’ BC said ‘Thank you for giving the exact change *smile* ‘ Wow-Change does makes people other than obama happy! ๐Ÿ˜€ Grinning at the BC, i thought – things are getting better!And the world would be a better place only if everybody was courteous! BC ‘s are not the only persons who should learn what that means.. Fellow commuters who shove each other for getting aboard,getting a place to sit,ignoring the 3 legged people that travel along with us – everyone shud learn. Change begins in thy heart,as charity begins at home.

In a lame attempt to make a haiku that actually rhymes ๐Ÿ˜› :buss

Buses don’t derange

Buses are cool

Unless you carry change

you are deemed a fool !!

Feel free to write what you think about the Indian Bus system in the comment section!Even though I’m pretty certain this isn’t going anywhere…atleast I’l get to know varied opinions ๐Ÿ˜›

17 thoughts on “of buses and fusses !

  1. Hehe..I have got many a big nose cuts for not givin exact change in the bus..And sittin near opposite sex prob is only in tamil nadu ..In delhi..It is common to see ppl scramblin 4 a seat and invariably they dont see if it is a gal or guy sittin near u..Personal experience speaks..All we need is a seat and the rite change..Then we are out of trouble..Remember the Mepco bus provided 4 hostel gals??The mdu bus was worse and much more crowded than an out bus..We were just like cattles packed in a sardine box!!!:-(

  2. @ Sudha:
    Oh the delhiwala gives an insight,now! ๐Ÿ˜›
    Mepco bus – that was the first thing that struck me when I was writing this up…. In an effort not to defame the college(I dunno y) I haven’t mentioned it.But thanks for bringing it up… ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. haha..The first picture looks like a still from “fevicol” adhesive tv-ad! ๐Ÿ˜›
    Anyways, tho’ there are some BCs who make unreasonable shouts at people, I’ve seen people flaunting a 100rs note proudly for a 5min travel town bus! ๐Ÿ˜€
    Btw, a nice sane post!

  4. @drajesh:
    true enough!
    All the same,I think most BCs are chronic illmannered ppl who road rage for gain of extra tickets at the next stop..
    @sudha:
    \m/ YAY!! ๐Ÿ˜›

  5. Yep.Completely agree with you.Have experieced those smiles when i give ’em exact change and those cold looks when i get ’em a 10 Rupee note in case of some genuine hearts who are really peevish to get 2 rupee 3 rupee 5 rupee coins to every commuter – was wonderin why they behave this fishy about gettin us back the change- lets say they are venial – But there are BCs who take advantage if we dont get ’em exact changes – having juggled between our mepco nagar and madurai matuthavani bus stand umpteen times- I knew a BC – if you give him 30 Rupees for want of a 25 Rupee ticket, most of the time he will never get you back those 5 rupees. For the first two times he didnt give me till i got to the mepco stop. and he used to give silly reason that he forgot and the likes. So the next time I asked him for the change at virudhunagar bus stand – he shouted – “do you think i am going to run away with your five rupees? what can i do with your five rupees?” – Well I was totally embarassed – But later I noted he is using the same technique and found he never gives back change to anyone unless he is asked – I am not “Tamilan Vijay” to get him a nice lesson – I was helpless and started giving him exact changes then onwards which he sensed later and gave me a nasty gawk as if i was the one to be blamed. I smiled and said “anna- I know how you find it difficult to get us back those 5 rupees- so got you correct changes” with a twinkle smile. lolz

  6. @ Priya :
    Happy to see you being online as much as i’m happy with ur comment! ๐Ÿ˜€
    What you said is very very true…I’ve experienced that embarrassment myself,i know how tat feels ๐Ÿ˜› Its like branding you a cheapskate ๐Ÿ˜ฎ
    And additional embarrassment if there’s some people u are acquainted with,some fig et al.., ๐Ÿ˜‰

  7. i really enjoyed traveling by buses during my childhood but now I dislike journey through bus transport thanks to weekend experience at mepco. the seating arrangement i.e. the size and the gap between the adjacent seats makes journey very difficult for adults. the conversation included is true when it comes to peak hours at villages. It is sensible for people to carry change while boarding a bus.

    it may justified(in India-u need to grab everything) that people push one another in order to have seat but i don’t know why they do the same while disembarking(really irritating)…(I believe that they have very important business deal waiting to be inked). In India, Education has nothing do with civilization and decency has been proved gazillion times by how people behave during bus travel. Nice post ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Nice post Gracelyne ๐Ÿ™‚ Even I had the privilege of journeying by bus after joining college only.. ๐Ÿ˜› I had then got changeophobia – used to check my bags again for the correct change or used to calculate an umpteenth time wether am getting the correct change!! huh! In a way this transport system has improved my confidence ๐Ÿ˜€

    Some BCs are too good, they help the old people with their sticks, luggage and some BCs give u a scorn look as if u have committed crime by not giving them the correct change!! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    One of my experiences with a BC :
    I did my IPT in Trichy. And not knowing the where-abouts, I and my friend asked the BC to inform us where to get down for the Raja-Rani park. We asked him 2-3 times during the travel. Sensing tht he is annoyed, we didnt ask him again. Then after some 30 mins we asked him again. He got pale. He forgot to direct us n took us upto Srirangam, the last stop!!!! x-( when we expressed our frustration, he alighted us in a returning bus with a free fare ๐Ÿ˜€ ๐Ÿ˜€ and this time the BC told in before-hand abt the stop!! ๐Ÿ˜€

  9. @ priyanka:
    Hi 5 ! ๐Ÿ˜€
    >> In a way this transport system has improved my confidence

    Even mine.. It kinda gave me the taste of real world,as you get to meet different flavours of the real world ! ๐Ÿ™‚
    btw, Thanks for visiting ๐Ÿ˜€

  10. India Bus journeys are fine

    if (uHaveSeat && uSitinWindowSide && uHaveXactChange)
    {
    Journey = Good;
    }
    else
    {
    Jounery = Bad;
    }

    You can enjoy the bus journey mostly if u r not traveling to work. If you are going to your friends’ place or to one of your relatives place or to a theater or somewhere you can enjoy your time, You’ll love the bus journey.

    Donno why the ease of journey is related to one’s mind’s expectation on where is he/she heading to..and I’ve never been blasted by a BC coz, I always carry change when I know that I’ll be catching a bus by any chance !

    Anyways, a good compilation of thoughts I should say ๐Ÿ™‚

  11. Well agree with you although in Delhi it could be a bit weird at times for the opposite sex, but things are changing for the better!!

    nice blog!!

  12. @ Kally :
    Good for you !! ๐Ÿ™‚
    Showing off your algorithmic capabilities haan?? ๐Ÿ˜€
    Agree with ya, tat journeys are impacted by traveller’s mind!

    @Rahul :
    Thanks for visiting ! =)

Leave a comment